About us

Kelly Vomacka (Attorney)


(For fastest service, please contact Paralegal Ella Torres. I am often not immediately available to answer the phone or respond to emails, because I am in court or writing documents. Thank you.)

I grew up in Santa Barbara, California, and I moved to the Pacific Northwest to attend college. I graduated with honors and a degree in Math and Computer Science, and then I attended law school. I volunteered at the public defender’s office starting in my first year, and I worked there throughout school. I became a lawyer in 1990, and I practiced for many years as a public defender in Tacoma and Seattle, defending misdemeanors and felonies in the juvenile and adult courts (including three murder cases). I tried more than 100 cases. I later moved on to write criminal appeals and to supervise other appellate attorneys. Over the course of three years I argued two cases in the Washington Supreme Court and many other cases in the Washington State Court of Appeals.

I have been in private practice since 2013, and my practice focuses on immigrant youth, appeals, and post-conviction relief.

College: University of Puget Sound (Bachelor of Science, Math and Computer Science, Coolidge Otis Chapman Honors Scholar)
Law school: Seattle University (Juris Doctor)
Admitted to practice: 1990

Ella Torres (Paralegal)


I was born in Los Mochis, Sinaloa, but I grew up in Seattle. I have an Associate’s degree from Highline College and a Paralegal Degree from Green River College. I have worked in the legal field for 10 years, supporting several litigation attorneys with everything from filing, through discovery, and on through arbitration or trial. Until 2020, my main focus was cases of personal injury, wrongful death, and sexual abuse.

In 2020, when I joined the Law Office of Kelly Vomacka, I began working in the immigration field, which I had wanted to do for a long time. I now work closely with all of our clients, their guardians, school teachers, counselors, and the different court systems. I plan to return to school in Fall 2022 and eventually go to law school. I have a passion for helping others and an intensity in pursuing justice and equality for all of our clients.

In my spare time, I like to read “Little Blue Truck” repeatedly with my toddler and do arts and crafts with my 7-year old daughter. I like to travel to a new place at least once a month. You can also find me volunteering with various nonprofits or on a good hike.